Hearty Beef Vegetable Soup

Dinner in a bowl, what could be better? When there is something in that bowl that is yummy, warm, filling and comforting, it’s a great dinner. I made this soup on a very cool, dreary day. It took care of my hunger, improved my mood and had a wonderful flavor. I didn’t skimp on anything, it’s full of veggie’s and beef.

Hearty Beef Vegetable Soup

I used a beef chuck roast for this soup. I like to cut up my own meat to remove as much of the fat as I can. I have also found that when you buy stewing beef at the grocery store, you never know what cuts are in the package. Chuck has the most flavor and it’s easy to cut up, along with usually being less expensive than what they call stew meat.
The vegetables are what I had in my refrigerator, I like to use fresh but frozen will work just fine. The tomatoes were fresh because of the time of year but I wouldn’t hesitate to use canned. I didn’t think far enough ahead or I would have made bread or muffins to complement the soup, where was my head?

Hearty Beef Vegetable Soup

If there happen to be any leftovers, this soup is excellent heated up at lunch time. You could even freeze the leftovers and bring it out at a later date. Just thaw and thicken for a meat pie filling. I have done that a time or two in my life and everyone thinks you cooked all day making the pie! I won’t tell on you for being on Pinterest all day, I promise.

Pinterest Photos ~ the perfect size for boards

Hearty Beef Vegetable Soup Hearty Beef Vegetable Soup

Hearty Beef Vegetable Soup

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients:Hearty Beef Vegetable Soup

2 1/2 to 3 lbs chuck roast, cut up into 1 inch cubes
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 medium chopped onions
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 tsp dried basil
1 tsp dried oregano
4 C beef stock, divided
2 C crushed fresh or canned tomatoes
2 stalks celery, thinly sliced
1 C sliced carrots
1 C fresh or frozen corn
1 C fresh or frozen green beans
2 C cubed potatoes

Directions:

In a 5qt dutch oven or soup pot, brown meat in olive oil.
Gradually add onions to the meat and saute until lightly browned.
Add garlic and cook for about 30 seconds.

Add 2 cups of the beef broth and salt, pepper, basil and oregano to the beef mixture.
Simmer for about 2 hours, stirring occasionally and checking to see if you need to add water. You may need to add up to 2 cups of water.

When beef begins to soften (I stick a fork in to test) stir in tomatoes, celery, carrots, corn, green beans and potatoes.
Bring back to a boil and then continue to simmer for about 1 hour more. Vegetables should be tender and beef almost falling apart.
Garnish as desired, fresh basil and a sprinkle of Parmesan tastes great.

Nancy 1

Copyright 2014

Leave a comment