Apple Caramel Shortcake with Sweet Potato Biscuits

Last week I was already thinking about Thanksgiving. I know what you are thinking, it’s too early to think about that holiday when we haven’t even had Halloween yet. You are right, but my thoughts were more about my favorite way to make sweet potatoes than turkey.  More about those when the time is right.

Apple Caramel Shortcake with Sweet Potato Biscuits

Here’s the thing, I love my sweet potatoes with maple syrup and apples in them. So I started to think about what else I could make with those ingredients. The idea was then born to make sweet potato biscuits and top them with caramel apples. A match made in heaven!

I went to work in the kitchen, the favorite room in my house. First I adapted a recipe for the biscuits, then started to peel apples. Even though I didn’t need a large quantity of apples, I got my apple peeler – corer out for the job. That in itself made me feel like fall was really here. The trip to the apple orchard might have helped too!

Apple Caramel Shortcake with Sweet Potato Biscuits

The apples were simply cooked in my large skillet on the stove, in butter and brown sugar, and finished off with some heavy cream for the caramel flavor. It was all I could do to not eat all the caramel apples. I struggled but held back. I would suggest that you double the part of the recipe for the caramel apples, they are that good!

I split the sweet potato biscuits and spooned a layer of the apples then replaced the top and spooned more apples over that. Feel free to top as desired. I whipped some cream and sweetened it with powdered sugar and added a little cinnamon. I had thought about ice cream, but didn’t have any. That part is totally up to you.

Pinterest Photos ~ the perfect size for boards

Apple Caramel Shortcake with Sweet Potato BiscuitsApple Caramel Shortcake with Sweet Potato Biscuits

 

 

 

Apple Caramel Shortcake with Sweet Potato Biscuits

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients:Apple Caramel Shortcake with Sweet Potato Bicuits

For the Biscuits:

1 Cup mashed cooked sweet potato

4 Tbsp melted butter

1 1/4 Cups all-purpose unbleached flour

1/4 Cup pure maple syrup

1 Tbsp baking powder

pinch of salt

1/4 Cup milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400°

Combine the sweet potato, maple syrup and butter in a large bowl. In another bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.

Pour the dry ingredients over the sweet potatoes and mix with a spoon until all the ingredients are blended.

Pour the milk over the sweet potato mixture and mix until a dough forms.

Roll out dough to 3/4 inch thickness and using a 2 1/2 inch round cutter, cut biscuits.

Place on a baking sheet, I lined mine with parchment. Brush with a little melted butter if desired.  Bake about 20 minutes, or until they are just beginning to brown.  Serve warm with apples spooned over the top.

For the Apples:

4 Cups peeled and sliced apples

2 Tbsp lemon juice

1/4 Cup butter

1 Cup brown sugar

1/3 Cup heavy cream

Directions:

In a large skillet, place the apples and sprinkle with lemon juice, add the butter and cook on low heat. Cover for about 5 minutes. When the apples begin to soften, add the brown sugar and stir gently. Cook until the brown sugar is melted and apples are soft but not mushy.

Add the heavy cream, bring to a boil and cook for about 2 minutes. Cool.

Sweet Potato Biscuits recipe adapted from Serious Eats http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2012/05/sweet-potato-biscuits-easy-recipe.html

Nancy 1

Leave a comment